Fair Voyage Reviews | Rated 5 out of 5 by Travelers

COVID-19 – Destinations Where You Can Travel Now

Reviews

Avatar

Linda S traveled to Peru in October 2022 and wrote a review October 25, 2022

PinUnited States of America (USA)

Wonderful experience

On behalf of Mark of myself, we had a wonderful experience! Everything from the guides and accommodations absolutely met expectations. Peru is a beautiful country and the people were awesome. We very much enjoyed our stay at Second Home (and loved the fact that we were staying at the home of a famed Peruvian artist!). The drivers were timely, and all our hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Tulu at Samanapaq could not have been friendlier or more helpful. She was a hoot, and we loved her cats and dog, LOL. She also rescued me when I woke with a wet backpack due to a leaky Camelbak bladder. (Good to have a dryer on property!). The coffee route trek was gorgeous. Guillermo was very personable and sweet. We loved being included in Alejandro's dance festival. ;O) The coffee was the best I've ever had! It was a bit warmer than we anticipated. And we could've done with less weight/gear in our packs! Rookie move. Machu Picchu mountain was arguably the highlight. So spectacular! And of course, our tour of the ruins was so informative and intriguing. Alex in Cusco was a very entertaining guide for our walking tour. Such a fascinating history and he does a great job of bringing the Inca civilization to light.

Avatar

Christian Z traveled to Tanzania in September 2022 and wrote a review October 12, 2022

PinSwitzerland

Safari + Zanzibar

In spite of never having met physically with any Fair Voyage employee, all interaction felt very personal and tailored to our specific needs and requests. We didn't have a clear view of what we exactly were looking for initially but were very well guided and advised by the team. Working with Fair Voyage felt right at all times - such that we even referred the agency to a friend for a project of his own even before we embarked on our trip. Having returned from our Tanzania trip today, our feeling and trust for the Fair Voyage team has proven to have been right. We were rewarded with a fantastic journey and stay in Africa that felt special, "nichey" and good at all times.

  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
Avatar

Beatrice B traveled to Tanzania in August 2022 and wrote a review September 01, 2022

PinSwitzerland

Great safari

I had a great safari, from Tarangire (elephants everywhere), to Lake Natron (a bleak, barren landscape, with pink flashes of flamingoes), followed by a whole day in the Ngorongoro caldera (and rhino sightings), and several days in Central and Northern Serengeti, with a lion extravaganza in Central Serengeti, a couple of leapards as well as some impressive Mara river crossings during the wildebeest migration. The organisation was impeccable, I could just lean back and enjoy!

  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
Avatar

Wendy B traveled to Tanzania in July 2022 and wrote a review July 29, 2022

PinMauritius

Kilimanjaro (8-Day Northern Circuit)

We took the 8 day Northern Circuit route up Kilimanjaro, with 3 others (group of 5). In short, we could not be happier with the experience and have no hesitation in strongly recommending them to anyone who projects to climb the big mountain. Not all of us would have made it to the top and safely back down were it not for our 3 guides, 19 crew and logistics/back-up team in the office. The level of service was excellent, but more than that, it was the heart and enthusiasm that they all put into their jobs that truly made this a unique experience, especially compared to other groups we saw on the trek. It was already quite incredible to witness them carry huge loads, sleep little and get everything ready for us, but they also did so with a smile. Nothing was ever too much to ask for: it was all ‘hakuna matata’, whether at 2,000m or 5,895m! One of us even got a birthday cake and little party back at the office on our return. As for special mentions: Suleiman was an excellent lead guide and worked in real synergy with his assistant guides Eliakim and Dismas: safety was always top priority. A special thank you to the chef (Lucas), who whipped up incredibly complex and tasty meals at all altitudes, and waiter (Diamond), whose attention to detail and care were exemplary. Also to John, the camp manager, who coordinated all camp logistics to ensure we were comfortable, together with Hamidu and Ali. A shout-out to strong men Juma and Twalib, who assisted with the final, overnight push to the summit and back down. And finally, thank you to the commercial director Joel for all guidance and the stellar organisation. We have no hesitation in recommending them to others for the Kili treks, and hear (from our teammates) that their Safari offer is also excellent.

  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
Avatar

Sarah K traveled to Tanzania in August 2021 and wrote a review September 10, 2021

PinGermany

Definitely recommend

Kim made everything very easy, I felt well prepared for the trip. She responded very quickly to all e-mails, the trip was perfectly organized. In Tanzania we were picked up and brought to the hotel; we also met the guides. Everyone was very friendly and helpful; felt safe during the hike. Well trained guides, everything was very organized. I'd definitely recommend FairVoyage!

  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
Avatar

Rene F traveled to Tanzania in August 2020 and wrote a review September 24, 2020

PinUnited States of America (USA)

Easy, secure, and responsive

We used Fair Voyage to book our Kilimanjaro Hike and 2 Day Safari. If you are like me, you probably googled and contacted 20+ companies trying to find the right fit. The responsiveness and level of detail stood out immediately. I was impressed with the professionalism and level of concern as we navigated in the COVID-19 crisis. If you are looking to book a wonderful vacation with people who care and focus on sustainable tourism and ethical treatment for operators; you will not find a better company than Fair Voyage!

Avatar

Msallam A traveled to Tanzania in February 2020 and wrote a review April 03, 2020

PinUnited States of America (USA)

Thank you FairVoyage for making booking my trip seamlessly easy! Would highly recommend booking with them if you're ever thinking of summiting Mount Kilimanjaro!

Avatar

Michael K traveled to Tanzania in February 2020 and wrote a review March 21, 2020

PinUnited States of America (USA)

Fair Voyage was great! Very responsive to my many questions...and in dealing with any concerns I had... excellent services on all levels! The team is top notch, have their clients best interest in mind and go the extra mile to insure a great outcome...I highly recommend them! There is little to be improved...the only knock i have...and in this time of our reliance on computers and internet providers...their site was down several times in my lead up to my trip...making it difficult to communicate...but as with many things...there was a work around as Fair Voyage worked with their IT personnel to get the site up and running once again...after that...I wish them great success as they become a bigger player in this space!

Avatar

Juha S traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review February 20, 2020

Kilimanjaro (Northern) & Safari

I got information I needed and felt my wishes were listened to and that I was in good hands. FV made my life after deciding to go to Africa so much easier :D Basically everything was as promised. Big thanks to Kim handling everything really well!

  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
Avatar

Eric K traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review February 18, 2020

Kilimanjaro (Lemosho) & Safari

Very good company to work with. Met all our requests and needs. Connected us with a great trail guide that made our trip one of a lifetime. Very good value for the professional staff, fair porter treatment, and overall experience. All the personnel from the guide to the porters went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience and made it to the top. If it wasn't for the guides helping and watching over us the entire way we would not have made it to the summit. If I had to say anything the food was a 7 out of 10. Could have been better but not complaining especially with the resources they had to work with on the trail. We were able to eat all the meals.

  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
Avatar

Stefan B traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review February 17, 2020

Kilimanjaro Climb (Machame Route)

Outstanding. From the very day you book your trip to when you get back, Fair Yoyage provides personal, applicable and fast answers to all your questions and doubts. Nice and professional guides. They were serious about getting us to the top but at the same time, they were able to blend in with the group and have fun during the downtime in camp. At no point did I feel that my health and safety were not prioritized.

  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
Avatar

Matt B traveled to Kenya and wrote a review February 15, 2020

Great Company!

Fair Voyage was great to work with when planning our Amboseli safari and Kilimanjaro Climb. Valentina was so helpful providing recommendations as we customized our itinerary. She helped us find a local operator that could guide us the whole time across both Kenya and Tanzania. The guides were friendly and took great care of us. The food on the mountain was delicious, to our surprise. And we love the company's focus on sustainable tourism and enduring porters are treated ethically

Avatar

Drew P traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review December 27, 2019

Amazing planning, communication, and comfort from start to finish

We worked with Alex at Fair Voyage to plan our trip to Tanzania and had an amazing time. She was always quick to respond, flexible when it came to making adjustments to the trip or schedule, and helpful in getting us the best deals while still ensuring an ethical and safe adventure. Fair Voyage coordinated all of our accommodations and, while we were working on a budget, we were always amazed at how great each place we stayed at was. We did a seven-day Kilimanjaro trek (Rongai Route, which I highly recommend) and a five-day safari afterward. Both adventures were successful and everything we hoped for. I was skeptical of making payments to an international company for a trip in Africa, but the payment portal provided by Fair Voyage was reputable and easy-to-understand. It also allowed us to pay for portions of the trip at different times. Fair Voyage’s approach at making sure the porters and guides you work with are treated in an ethical and responsible manner made us rest easy knowing that we picked the right company. I would highly recommend working with Fair Voyage (and particularly Alex) for your trip to Tanzania!

Avatar

Min S traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review December 11, 2019

Kilimanjaro Climb (Lemosho Route)

Great guides, very attentive. Experience far exceeded expectations.

Avatar

Rebecca P traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review October 22, 2019

It was amazing! We were very happy with our tour to the peak of Kilimanjaro. All four of us made it to the top and that is because of our guides. Joshua and Babu were encouraging and helpful the entire trip. They helped us believe we would make it to Uhuru Peak – and we did!

Avatar

Roopa A traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review September 19, 2019

Kilimanjaro Climb (Northern Circuit)

Was exactly the company we were looking for who was able to advise us on all aspects of the trip but most importantly put us in touch with local ethical companies of high quality. Everything worked perfectly and they were very professional. Guides: Very experienced, knowledgeable and had an extensive range of skills from leadership of the team (including dealing with various issues with rangers etc), medical, good understanding of individual client needs and most of all adaptive to ensure clients had the most enjoyable experience but also were well prepared to reach the summit Safety: Daily medical checks, constant monitoring of how we were doing and very reactive eg when Gareth had the start of hypothermia at Gilmans point - lead guide took off his jacket to add layers to him. Thank you for all your help and support- was an incredible and unforgettable experience!

  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
Avatar

Nathan S traveled to Kenya and wrote a review September 12, 2019

Knowledgeable, friendly and responsive. Helped us pick our trip.

My contact at fair voyage was responsive, talked on the phone with me and helped me choose my route and trip options.

Avatar

Arkadiy R traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review August 26, 2019

Kilimanjaro Climb (Rongai Route)

Great guides and support crew for the hike

Avatar

Paige D traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review August 04, 2019

Experience + genuine care = perfect!

From the start -- perusing the website -- to the post-climb check-ins, everything with Fair Voyage was perfect! ...and that's just from my perspective as a hiker. Knowing that care is also extended to the porters and the environment is also crucial for me. I can't wait to book another trip with Fair Voyage!

Avatar

Sarah H traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review August 01, 2019

Kilimanjaro Climb (Machame Route)

Extremely knowledgeable, well organized and well prepared. The guide team, lead by Job, was very competent. Health and safety was always the top priority in conversations. Equipment was in good shape, high quality materials. There was a toilet! Also didn’t expect pillows. Porters were great.

  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
  • Travel advisor
  • Avarat status
  • Kim
Avatar

Laura R traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review July 29, 2019

Kilimanjaro (Lemosho) & Safari

Loved every minute. Overall a fantastic experience!! Would book with Fair Voyage (already recommended!) again. Everest Base Camp here we come!

Avatar

Linda S traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review July 29, 2019

Tanzania Kili hike and safari

Just returned from 2 weeks in Tanzania---8 day Lemosho route for the Kili climb and four day photo sarafi in Tarangire, Serengeti, and Ngorongoro. The entire trip was exceptional! From the professionalism of Fair Voyage to the people (fellow hikers, guides, porters), food, accommodations, etc. I could not be more pleased with our experience! Thank you Fair Voyage!!

Avatar

Emma S traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review July 22, 2019

Kilimanjaro Climb (Lemosho Route)

When we looked at the KPAP list many of the local companies had great reviews but very little information about routes, prices, etc on their websites so it was hard to compare. Many Western operators had lots of info on their websites but much higher prices for basically the same trip. Fair Voyage seemed to give us the best of both worlds.

Avatar

Carole D traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review July 02, 2019

Mt Meru and Kilimanjaro

I could not thank you enough for the organization of this wonderful trip. My guides did an amazing job that made us feel safe all through the climbs. We did enjoyed our time on both Meru and Kilimanjaro. We are very happy to have summited both mountains but it is the whole experience with the guides and the porters that made it so special. We hope that by booking with a fair operator that we were able to make a difference for them.

Avatar

Stefanie F traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review June 30, 2019

Amazing Trip to Tanzania, would definetly book again!

I went on a 5-day safari to northern Tanzania in Febuary and it was a wonderful experience. Our guide and driver was very nice and was happy to answer all our questions about the animals. The accomodations are unique and comfortable, the staff was always helpful, very tasty food.

Avatar

Shimul S traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review June 19, 2019

Amazing Staff & Service

My friend and I had been planning to climb Kili for a few years and we finally did it in October 2018 with Fair Voyage. When we first started our research for a tour operator, it quickly became a daunting experience - there were a lot of options out there! One thing we learned was that we should only go with operators that follow fair porter practices. This search for an ethical climb is what led us to Fair Voyage. We reached out to Fair Voyage staff and they immediately responded to us (thank you Alex!) and walked us through our options (private tour/package options with Zanzibar etc.). Over the course of a few days, we exchanged several emails to narrow down dates/route and other details. I really appreciated their responsiveness and transparency. They were clear about the budget constraints, cost breakdowns and terms & conditions for cancellation policies. The payment experience via Fair Voyage was seamless - we were able to pay online with our US credit cards without any hassle. We also had the option to pay a portion upfront (30% deposit) and the rest later. Although we didn't end up booking Safari/Zanzibar with them, in retrospect I wish we had. Fair Voyage also connected us directly with the local tour operator company who were equally responsive and very helpful in accommodating for our needs. Before the trip, we received a full detailed itinerary with a breakdown of what to expect each day and the recommended gear list and rental options. Our climb itself was great - thanks to the team of guides and porters who took care of us like family out there. Fair Voyage reached out to us after our climb to congratulate us! They really care about their work and ensuring their customers are happy. All in all, a great experience! You're in safe hands :) Asante Sana Fair Voyage!

Avatar

Maggie G traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review March 12, 2019

Such a wonderful experience!

Such a perfect experience. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to hike Kilimanjaro! I liked everything! The guides, the rest of the crew, the food was amazing and the rest of my hiking group was wonderful!

Avatar

Sarah M traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review January 26, 2019

Professional, Kind, and Seamless Coordination

Fair Voyage coordinated our Kilimanjaro trek and safari, and we had an outstanding experience with them from start to finish. At the proposal stage, they quickly provided us with a proposed itinerary for a safari and Kilimanjaro trek that not only included a list of dates and activities, but also included the names of the safari lodges, little pictures of what we would see, and descriptions of what we would be doing each day, so that we could really imagine how the trip would be. We were considering a few different options for dates, and the order of our safari and trek, and FV helped us to play around with some of the dates to find the best itinerary to work with our schedule. Once we confirmed our schedule, FV connected us with the local operator and made sure that we received all of the information we needed. Alexandra at FV was very responsive and friendly, and answered all of the random questions that popped up. FV also made the payment process very simple, easy, and stress-free. It is difficult to plan a safari/Kilimanjaro trip, as it seems like there are infinite options and possibilities in terms of local operators. It was really wonderful to be able to rely on FV to help us find the best guides and accommodations, and to know that we were supporting businesses with a commitment to environmental sustainability and ethical treatment of employees. We would highly recommend them to anyone!

Avatar

Ed A traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review November 28, 2018

Choosing a Kilimanjaro tour company is no easy task. Fair Voyage was my partner during the entire process. They helped me find a responsible company that fit within my budget. They also helped by providing lots of supplemental info like a packing list, visa info, etc. As a budget solo traveler, I was given 5 star service.

Avatar

David H traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review November 27, 2018

Great Kili Climb with Responsible Operator

Alexandra helped me plan a successful tour and summit of Kilimanjaro. She was patient in walking me through all my options and always responsive despite our time zone difference and the last minute nature of my trip. If you want to make sure you are going with a KPAP operator, Fair Voyage makes it easy. I highly recommend their services.

Avatar

Nick C traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review November 16, 2018

Great experience with Fair Voyage!

I came across Fair Voyage in my search for an ethical Kilimanjaro climb and they were able to connect me to a fantastic local tour company. They also provided all material necessary for a smooth climb and the experience was incredibly positive. Alex was extremely helpful as well! Definitely recommend you book through Fair Voyage!

Avatar

Jessica Z traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review November 12, 2018

Making the reservation was seamless, the team was extremely responsive and adapted to our needs (e.g., providing for ad-hoc transportation needs from/to hotel, taking us to a souvenir store etc.). The guides helped us prepare for the hike by personally going over each climber's gear in the hotel rooms and ensuring we were well equipped and supplemented by rental gear whenever needed. On the last day, while figuring out the payments at the office, they accommodated for us by taking fees per person instead of as a group, even though it created more work for the porters. They also stored our luggage safely for the entire week, saving us the hassle of storing at the hotel. The entire team of guides and porters went the extra mile every step of the day to make us feel at home in the harsh mountain climates. Every morning, we got beverages and hot water served to our door along with a warm greeting. I am vegetarian and the cook prepared special dishes each meal to accommodate for me, which I really appreciated (the food was delicious - thank you Emmanuel & Amos!). Each morning, while wearing my gaiters, one of the porters would come over to help me (without me asking!) - despite the crazy cold and no gloves, he would help me tie the gaiters every single day. During the hike itself, our guides - Mr. J (Job), Suley and Juma were with us every step of the way, guiding us and taking care of us like family. Without Suley's optimism, Mr. J's meticulous planning and Juma's constant help, I would not have made it. On summit night especially, the guides carried my backpack, helped me eat food/drink water at every stop and made sure I was doing ok. Mr. J helped me get down the entire way from the summit to base camp, right to our tents. I'm sure this was annoying for him, but he did it anyway to ensure I got down fast and safe (I'm slow going downhill). Mr. J also accommodated for us further by shortening the trip from 8 to 7 days. Very grateful to their support and help throughout the week! When we decided to come down the mountain a day early, they made sure to get us covered for lunch. Our great team of guides and porters went out of their way to make us feel at home on the mountain and after. Some of the most genuine people I have met!

Avatar

Sunny S traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review October 15, 2018

I had a wonderful experience and I very much enjoyed the service provided . . . The guides, porters, cooks, and the rest of the team were great and were instrumental in helping me reach the summit:)

Avatar

Likang Z traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review October 14, 2018

The team was very professional. The daily briefings were informative and detailed. We had all the support we needed for a successful summit. The cook was amazing and catered to our vegetarian needs.

Avatar

Erin C traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review June 16, 2018

Everything was perfect. Great patient guide

Avatar

Sophie M traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review November 05, 2017

The climb was fantastic, and I made it to the top! Everything you had organized worked out well, thanks so much again.

Avatar

Sherelle P traveled to Tanzania and wrote a review October 21, 2017

Very reassuring service

Very reassuring service. I did not get the first confirmation email, but Alex followed up with a personal email and was helpful during our communications. Very pleased. Stanley was a great host. As a single female, first time in Tanzania, Stanley really put me at ease. Friendly and professional at all times. He was waiting for me as agreed, even though my flight was slightly early, and he offered me a bottle of cool water as we got to the car. The drive to Moshi was calm and he took the time to talk about the places we drove past. His service was excellent and I'd recommend him.

Avatar

Jill Rodriguez wrote a review May 01, 2021

They were very responsive and attentive with all my questions which was super helpful! Really great value for your money because they offer unique tours that revolves around responsible and conscious travel.

Avatar

Johanna Herbst wrote a review January 18, 2019

I know the founder personally and she brings so much dedication, commitment and professionalism that it is clear to me that I would book a trip to Kilimanjaro only with Fair Voyage. Keep it up!

Avatar

Justyna Tarwid wrote a review November 15, 2018

Highly recommended for finding and booking sustainable trips with local tour operators, expert on Kilimanjaro climbs! Professional, reliable and devoted to responsible travelling.

Avatar

Chiara Rinaldi wrote a review November 11, 2018

Tourism is a great way to learn, stay open minded and support local economies. It needs to be done responsibly and that's what Fair Voyage does.

Avatar

Maria Cristina Nieddu wrote a review November 11, 2018

I love Africa and I know that if I were to go there again for a trip, I would only consult Fair Voyage to ensure that my journey will be awesome, unforgettable and, above all, sustainable. I hope I’ll have another opportunity and that other destinations will be available as well. Keep up the great work!

Avatar

Katharina van Daele wrote a review November 09, 2018

The best travel agency for Africa I came across offering memorable and unique tours. Guides are local and you can also book a tailor made trips combining Kilimanjaro with safari. 5-Star service with short response times and and insider knowledge and competitive prices!

Avatar

Kamata Ngigi wrote a review November 02, 2018

I would highly recommend Fair Voyage, this is because I was with Alex in my home country and loved the attention she gave to details of the treatment of Mt kenya climb Crew and her concern for environmental conservation. Her platform makes it easy to choose between options which companies to contract when planning for holiday to Africa.

Avatar

Elizabeth Ashley Durham wrote a review September 25, 2018

Having met Alex on a bicycle trip across Africa, I was really inspired by her passion and commitment to provide a platform that allows others to arrange ethical and conscious travel. Fair Voyage is a top notch organisation with an amazing mission, and I look forward to arranging my next trip with them!

Avatar

Claire Corbett wrote a review September 03, 2018

Can highly recommend Fair Voyage!! It is one of the best sustainable travel companies out there, specialising in travel to Africa. The team, including, Founder, Alex, has amazing local knowledge and expert tips for the conscious traveller.